– as the Zimmerbräu was called in records dating from 1550 … Master brewer Aegidius Zimmermann adapted the building just after 1573. From this time forth beer brewers practised their trade in 'Zimmermanns Bräu', before in 1895 it was converted into an inn.
In the midst of the town of St. Wolfgang, which is steeped in history and whose origins go date to Saint Wolfgang, the Zimmerbräu hotel building has stood since the 16th century – a building with a history …
Located at the delightful market square, you look from the hotel out to the lake, while behind the hotel the Kalvarienberg, with its lovely little church and the mighty Schafberg, create the background.
First documented as "Khaufflingerische Braustube", the building was adapted just after 1573 by master brewer Aegidius Zimmermann. From then on beer was brewed here, until in the year 1895 innkeepers moved in and the tradition of hospitality began in Zimmermann's brewery.
The Zimmerbräu's inn tradition follows the Scharf family manage to lease the hotel for 18 years, before becoming owners in 1972.
The Zimmerbräu has been owned by Alexandra Scharf since 1997, who together with her husband Johann Pöllmann, continued to transform the guesthouse from 1999 to the gem and 4****Hotel Zimmerbräu that it is today: